Florida Changes the requirements for Medical Marijuana
Florida had laid some tidy requirements when it comes to getting qualified in this state to be treated with the use of Medical Marijuana. In order to become a patient in Florida one must
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be a Florida Resident with a valid Florida I.D or Driver’s License- other proof a residency may include a passport or other photo i.d. with either a bank statement, utility bill, or insurance and car policy card.
- Patients must obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from primary care physician describing their diagnosis and bring these records with you to the appointment.
- Patients must have been diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition AND the patient must be a patient of the ordering physician for at least 3 months prior to the diagnosis,
- Patient must have tried other treatments without success and the ordering doctor must determine the risks of use are reasonable in respect to the benefits to the patient.
- More info at www.floridahealth.gov
Patients that are diagnosed with one or more of the following severe, debilitating , and terminal illnesses, are qualified for the use of Medical Marijuana under the Marijuana Legalization Initiative, Amendment 2
- Symptoms of cancer or any physical condition that produces chronic symptoms of severe seizures and muscle spasms.
- Muscle Spasms
- Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Any other ailment, illness, or condition of the same severity or symptoms, when determined by a physician’s opinion- that the use of medical marijuana would surpass any potential health risks.
As of this month- June of 2017 the Florida law says that you now only have to visit with a physician for 60 days (2 months) before you can apply for a medical marijuana card- a change from 90 days (3 months).
Chronic Pain is now a factor and can qualify you for medical marijuana.